top of page

GRANDIOSE GUMBO

First time I cooked gumbo was such a complicated task I almost scratched the dish from my list... but then, I found a slow-cooker recipe and my love for Cajun food was restored.



INGREDIENTS

Olive oil or avocado oil

Chopped garlic

Chopped onion

Chopped green bell pepper

1 tbsp of flour

1 package of sausage (your choice, I use turkey sausage or any spicy option)

Shredded chicken, already cooked

Shrimp

Cajun spice mix

1 12oz can of chopped tomatoes

1 tbsp of tomato paste

2 cups of chopped okra (I used frozen and already chopped)

Chicken broth

Salt and pepper to taste

White rice


Heat the oil in a pot. Add onion, garlic, and bell pepper. Let it sweat for a bit. Add the sliced sausage, cook for 5 minutes. Add the flour and mix.

Transfer the mix to a slow cooker and set the timer for four hours, high heat. Add the rest of the ingredients, except the rice and mix. Let it cook for four hours, checking the thickness of the broth from time to time.

Taste the broth and adjust flavors... does it need more salt? A little bit of more Cajun spices? Your choice!

Serve in bowls and add some rice. Enjoy!


16 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page